Am I the only one who gets a little of the post-Christmas blues? I think I have a little bit of that this year.

I love in increasing order: autumn/Thanksgiving/Christmas. I like giving gifts, a lot of the music, the special events, etc. Late last week, as my wife and I went on a hike in the mountains in northern S. Carolina, I think we both realised that the abrupt end to the holidays and on to a cold, dark winter had caught us feeling a little down.

Sunday morning, as often happens, the minister who was preaching seemed to aim directly at me. He talked of Psalm 130 and the significance of taking the lessons of Christmas and not just wrapping them up in a box in an attic, but making sure they could advance forward in your life for the rest of the year.

I’m not an emotional guy – maybe a bit sentimental, but that message sort of got to me, after the dwelling on the whole “event” of Christmas that was passing, and how it was getting me down, it was a big pick me up to not just throw the previous few weeks away as a fun time at best, or a waste of time at worst, but to carry the lessons on for the new year.

Not sure where I’m going with this, but I can say that the thought of how to handle the “event” of Christmas into something that I can take away has been on my mind the last few days, even as I call it a “post-Christmas” blues and put away the decorations.

