For Christmas, my wife got me a subscription to Cooks Illustrated magazine, knowing that kitchen experiments are something I enjoy, and that I would appreciate Cooks Illustrated’s scientific approach to cooking. Little did she realize that previous kitchen disasters would now be turned into sanctified kitchen gourmet adventures, with style!

At any rate, as busy as we are, we have been looking for a good breakfast starter to break the routine, so we found this bran muffin recipe. I know, I know, bran…. bran not quite my favorite cereal grain; but this was different. Yes the recipe calls for half the bran to be pounded into a fine mist, and the rest straight out of the box Kellogg’s Original All Bran, but what really aids this one is the yogurt and the molasses (or Georgia cane sugar in my case). It turned out fine, a nice compact muffin with enough chewy calories to last you for several hours.

So its come to this, I’m making bran muffins. I suppose this means, regardless of what the calendar says, the 20’s are over for me..
Bran MuffinBetter Bran Muffins by Charles Kelsey

Makes 12 Muffins

  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 teaspoon water
  • 2 1/4 cups All-Bran Original cereal
  • 1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 large egg plus 1 large yolk
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons mild or light molasses
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 6 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 3/4 cups plain whole milk yogurt

Bake at 400 degrees, for 18 minutes, adding the dry and wet ingredients together at once, after mixing them separately.

